More Stories
Heavy Laden


March 17–31, 2017
Opening Reception: March 17, 5-7 pm (Artist Gallery Talk, 6 pm)

Featuring the work of Desmond Lewis, the MFA thesis exhibition Heavy-Ladenexplores the relationship between the often-overlooked industrial contributions of African Americans in the construction of the United States over time and considers the metaphorical characteristics of the materials used.

Lewis's work is driven by the relationship he has with steel and concrete—a physicality and commitment echoed in his everyday experience living in the United States as an African American man. Comprised of carved concrete and forged and fabricated steel sculptures, the exhibition occupies the gallery but also includes a large-scale outdoor piece as well as public work in the Orange Mound community.

This exhibition is supported through the generosity of West Memphis Steel, Orange Mound Gallery, Razorback Concrete, Williams Equipment and Supply, MCR Safety, and Tennessee Sling Center.


March 17–31, 2017

Opening Reception & Award Ceremony: March 17, 3:30-5 pm

In its 11th year, this exhibition features the work of area K-12 art educators who are graduates of The University of Memphis Art Education Program, or who have completed coursework at the University during their teaching preparation or careers, presented alongside the work of their students. Every year, this exhibition is held during Youth Art Month and is in accordance with the mission and vision of The University of Memphis, the Department of Art, and the Tennessee Art Education Association. Award winners will be selected by this year's judge and U of M alumnus, Dolly Herciuk (BFA in Studio Art, 2014), a Children's Librarian Assistant at the Benjamin L. Hooks Central Library.
Wars in Words: The Art of Propaganda

Education teaches one how to think, while propaganda teaches one what to think. Information offers opportunities, while propaganda tells how we should use these opportunities. Propaganda narrows people’s views, while education broadens them. Education opens minds, while propaganda closes them; education will ultimately lead people to question the values upon which society is based, while propaganda aims to make people accept those values and act upon that acceptance. As consumers of information it is imperative that we learn to recognize and analyze the true purposes of propaganda.  It is also imperative to understand that one person’s truth may be another person’s distortion of the truth. more here
More posts are loading...